Jonathan Davenport Wins 49th annual World 100 at Eldora Speedway

Jonathan Davenport takes home the 49th annual World 100 victory at Eldora Speedway, bagging $52,000 and a pair of famous Globe trophies. Bobby Pierce opened up the 100-lap event with the outside pole starting position, setting sail from the outset, dominating the early going of the race, before a lap thirty restart stacked the 30-car field up, once again. Bobby was able to hold off a hard-charging Jonathan Davenport on back-to-back restarts, to maintain the event lead, for the time being.

Jonathan Davenport would momentarily assume the race lead on lap-48, before Pierce powered back to the point in lap traffic just a lap later, grabbing the half-way point with forty-nine first half laps led. Rickey Weiss threw his hat in the ring laps later, catching both Davenport and Bobby Pierce in traffic, to make it a three-car race for the $53,000-payday. With 40-laps-to-go, Davenport overtook Pierce for the race lead once again, just to lose it once again to a boards-ripping Bobby Pierce, as well as the second-position to Weiss, continuing the three-car battle for the top spot.

Jonathan would go from third to first, taking the lead with 32-laps-to-go, as Weiss and Pierce battled for second, trying to stay in the World 100 victory battle. Davenport maintained a comfortable lead for a number of laps, as Ricky Weiss moved himself into the second-position, setting his sites on the No. 49 machine. JD made his way through lap traffic smoother than the competition, putting a few seconds between himself, Weiss and Pierce, with just over 20-laps-to-go, before a lap-87 caution for an incident involving Bobby Pierce. Davenport would maintain the race lead on the restart, before a caution for a slowing car bunched the field up, again, with 9-laps-to-go.

Jonathan Davenport would hold off Jimmy Owens, to take home his third World 100 at Eldora Speedway victory and take his Six Pack throwback into victory-lane.

Top-10 Results:

1.) Jonathan Davenport

2.) Jimmy Owens

3.) Ricky Weiss

4.) Stormy Scott

5.) Chris Madden

6.) Scott Bloomquist

7.) Chad Simpson

8.) Dale McDowell

9.) Tim McCreadie

10.) Shanon Buckingham

(Mike Ruefer Photo)

2,121 views0 comments